Participation of Uzbekistan in the OTS: Historical necessity and commonality of interests

“Investment portal of Uzbekistan”

Citizens of 76 countries will be able to get an electronic visa to Uzbekistan (List)

Uzbekistan announces visa waiver for citizens of 45 countries (List)

Important Visa Information for Indian Citizens Travelling to Uzbekistan

November 11, 2022

Participation of Uzbekistan in the OTS: Historical necessity and commonality of interests

On November 12, 2021, Istanbul hosted the eighth summit of the Organization of Turkic States. The President of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev, who took part in this summit, noted that he supports the historic decision to change the name of the organization to the Organization of Turkic States and give Turkmenistan observer status.

It would not be an exaggeration to say that this decision was an important historical event that brought the Organization’s activities to a qualitatively new level and served to enhance its role in the international arena. Following the Istanbul Summit, it was decided to hold the First Summit of the Organization of Turkic States in 2022 in Uzbekistan.

Issues of a comprehensive expansion of multilateral relations in the trade and economic sphere, investment, digital technologies, transport and communications, education and culture were discussed at the meeting. The President of Uzbekistan thanked the summit participants for the decision to establish the Alisher Navoi International Prize, and also noted the importance of researching and translating rare works stored in the funds of the participating countries, creating a single electronic database of this unique heritage.

Then the heads of state signed more than ten documents, including the final declaration of the summit, the program document “Turkic World Vision – 2040”.

The OTS was established on October 3, 2009. Its main goal was to strengthen interstate cooperation. The Republic of Uzbekistan officially became a member of the Council in September 2019. Today, the members of the Organization, which changed its name to the Organization of Turkic States, are Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Türkiye. Hungary and Turkmenistan have observer status.

Cooperation between the member countries of the Organization of Turkic States is an important tool for further strengthening trade and economic relations, joint struggle against all global attacks and threats. The organization will ensure security and cooperation in the development of transport and energy corridors in Central Asia and the Caucasus. Its activities are also important in preserving the unique cultural unity of our peoples in conditions where there is a threat of destruction of values ​​as a result of the negative influence of mass culture.

As is known, November 4 this year marked the 30th anniversary of the establishment of relations between Uzbekistan and Türkiye. There is no doubt that an even more favorable environment will be created for strengthening long-term relations within the organization.

The Samarkand Summit will go down in history as the first meeting of the Organization of Turkic States. Another noteworthy aspect of the organization’s activities is that the states are united by brotherhood, historical identity and a common desire for cooperation. These countries are historically interconnected with each other and there is no doubt that they have common interests. The activity of Uzbekistan in the activities of the Organization corresponds to the national interests of the country in ensuring security, strengthening trade and economic cooperation, preserving cultural identity and will serve the further development of our state.

Within the framework of the summit, important measures were taken that will serve to increase the effectiveness of the Organization’s activities.

Kakhramon Hakberdiyev,

Director of the Scientific and Analytical Center for the Study of the Development of the Eastern Countries, Candidate of Economic Sciences,

Durdona Madaminova,

Candidate of Political Sciences, Associate Professor.