On additional organizational measures to create favorable conditions for the development of tourism potential of the Republic of Uzbekistan

“Investment portal of Uzbekistan”

Citizens of 76 countries will be able to get an electronic visa to Uzbekistan (List)

Uzbekistan announces visa waiver for citizens of 45 countries (List)

Important Visa Information for Indian Citizens Travelling to Uzbekistan

February 13, 2018

On additional organizational measures to create favorable conditions for the development of tourism potential of the Republic of Uzbekistan

Decree of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan dated 3 February 2018 No. UP-5326 “On additional organizational measures to create favorable conditions for the development of tourism potential of the Republic of Uzbekistan”, which entered into force on February 6, 2018

1. According to this Decree, from February 10, 2018, it was introduced a visa-free regime (unilaterally) for a period of 30 days for citizens of 7 countries: the State of Israel, the Republic of Indonesia, the Republic of Korea (South Korea), Malaysia, the Republic of Singapore, the Republic of Turkey and Japan.

The visa-free regime applies to citizens of these countries, holders of all categories of passports (diplomatic, official and civil) planning to visit the Republic of Uzbekistan for up to 30 days, regardless of the purpose of their trip. To enter the country, a person must have a valid national passport or another substitute document used for travel to foreign countries.

The visa-free regime does not apply to stateless persons permanently residing in the territories of these countries.

The visa-free regime is valid for 30 days from the date of entry into Uzbekistan. Before the end of the 30-day visa-free stay period, a foreign citizen must leave the Republic of Uzbekistan. Exceeding the 30-day visa-free stay is a violation of the rules of stay of foreign citizens in the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Accordingly, if it is necessary to stay in Uzbekistan for more than 30 days, a foreign citizen must obtain an entry visa to the Republic of Uzbekistan in accordance with the established procedure, corresponding to the purpose of his trip.

In accordance with the Procedure for the Entry into and Exit from the Republic of Uzbekistan of Foreign Citizens and Stateless Persons approved by the Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan of November 21, 1996 No. 408, visas for entry to the Republic of Uzbekistan to foreign citizens are issued by consular institutions of the Republic of Uzbekistan abroad (general consulates, consulates and consular departments of embassies).

In case of early (including temporary) departure to the territory of another state, upon the return to the Republic of Uzbekistan, the said 30-day period of visa-free stay will be recounted.

Temporarily staying in the Republic of Uzbekistan, foreign citizens reside in the territory of the Republic of Uzbekistan on national passports on the basis of a temporary residence permit.

Upon arrival at the temporary residence, foreign citizens are required to temporarily register with the internal affairs bodies of the Republic of Uzbekistan or register with accommodation facilities and medical institutions.

National passports are submitted for temporary registration on arrival at the destination within three days, excluding holidays and days off (Sunday).

The registration of foreign citizens is equal to the temporary residence permit and is administered by the administration of accommodation facilities and medical institutions in accordance with the procedure established by law on the basis of personal appeals of these citizens or written applications of receiving organizations for the period indicated in the appeals.

To the temporary registration is equal to the provision to the bodies of internal affairs in electronic form, with the help of a specialized electronic automated program, a list of tourists with their passport data, route patterns, places of stops (overnights) when traveling by tourist operators:

accompanied by a guide, and / or instructor-conductor within the framework of a tour organized by a tourist operator outside the settlements, if the term of such tour or part thereof does not exceed 10 days;

foreign citizens on a personal car, motorcycle, bicycle, on foot or in a group on the bus with the purchase of a tour operator car tour.

Foreign citizens can freely move through the territory of the Republic of Uzbekistan, with the exception of places forbidden for visits by foreign tourists.

2. Visa-free regime is also introduced for the members of the crews of aircrafts of foreign airlines carrying out regular flights to Uzbekistan.

3. Also by the Decree from February 10, 2018 for citizens of 39 countries introduced a simplified procedure for issuing tourist visas within two working days, not counting the day of receipt of documents, with the cancellation of the requirement to provide a tourist voucher or an inviting legal / physical person in the Republic of Uzbekistan to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

In this regard, diplomatic missions and consular offices are entrusted with the treatment of citizens of these countries, to take measures for the timely reception of their documents, the direction of the system “E-Visa” and, upon receipt of confirmation from the Center, issuing visas in the terms established by this Edict.

4. In addition, the Decree provides for the introduction, from July 1, 2018, of a system for issuing electronic entry visas.